Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos, Kajiado and Nakuru locked down

President Uhuru Kenyatta, in his address on Friday afternoon, announced cessation of movement into and out of Nairobi, Kiambu, Machakos, Kajiado and Nakuru effective midnight.

He noted that the move was necessitated by a spike in Covid-19 infections in the devolved units amidst a third wave.

Mr Kenyatta also revoked all issued curfew passes and exemptions, citing abuse. He has now ordered the Interior and Health ministries to review existing protocols.

He also ordered suspension of ordinary sessions of the August house, as well as those in the county assemblies of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru and their committees.

Curfew hours

The hours of the nationwide curfew have now been revised in the zoned areas, including Nairobi, Kiambu, Kajiado and Nakuru Counties, to now start at 8pm and end at 4am. Curfew hours across other parts of the country will remain the same, that is, start at 10pm.

Learning in schools

Mr Kenyatta has ordered the suspension of all in-person learning at all institutions including universities, tertiary and vocational colleges, except for candidates sitting their examinations and those in medical training institutions until further notices.

All sporting activities are also suspended, including those conducted by members’ clubs.

Alcohol sale, bars

Mr Kenyatta has also suspended the operation of bars in the 5 counties hardest hit by Covid-19 effective midnight.

“Operation of bars is suspended in Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru. Similarly, the sale of alcohol in eateries in the 5 counties is prohibited until further notice,” he ordered, adding that restaurants and eateries in these areas will now provide take away services only.

Eateries in other parts of the country will continue as usual, in line with public health guidelines. –